newoldour wedding websitedesignhost


I-will-make-it
December 05, 2007

I-will-make-it

December 05, 2007 - 21:10

I haven't been here around much since i was away living a very packed life.

a lot alot of things had happened recently. a lot of not-so-good things.

but of course, good things still stays.

i have a lot to say but nothing seems to come up. i wanna post more pictures, from the recent shoots, but i have no energy.

from today till next weekend, it's back to the hectic days where i was busy preparing the album - i need to start preparing another couple's album.

of course i will enjoy it and i will grow. and i will improve.

I-will-make-it.

16 hours day

November 25, 2007 - 13:47

I am back after shooting a 16 hours wedding yesterday.

If i never knew what fatigue was, now i know.

but it's extremely fulfiling!

Very pleased that the photos came out great and i enjoyed my time with the bride and groom.

Will post about it after i process them.

Though i learnt something new from the shoot, that PR skills is extremely important, i must really get to know the brothers and sisters gang. In all hectic and mad rush, i didn't distributed any namecards, which i should have. but o well, one more learning point to note!

Some honest thoughts.

November 19, 2007 - 20:20

I must say i don't know what to say here today.

i feel like saying a lot, but i don't know who's reading.

i would just say that i love my life now, i love kicking off a new career in professional photography, i love hugging QQ every time i come home (she will be right behind the door, waggin her tail like crazy!), i love waiting and counting down to dyl's return from taiwan, i love meeting up with the wedding couples that i am going to shoot, i love wondering who will approach me next and what will the project be about, i love being alive and healthy, i love, sometimes, seeing my patients' face when they see me (the happy ones i mean), i love having fun with my colleagues (or some colleagues).

but honestly, i get pissed off at some really rude people around the work place. people who are unappreciative, doesn't know how to say "please" or "thank you", and being fake. makes me wanna puke. seriously.

so now, i am going to go and brew myself a hot drink and relax, learn to forgive and let go, and let to be assertive. thinking of quitting doesn't make me a winner.

and of course, QQ's waiting for me.

well accomplished weekend!

November 12, 2007 - 00:27

it's amazing.

when i push myself to do something, i really could get it done! hahaha.

apart from completing the pet shoot (see below), i bought a domain name, email hosting and am busy designing the site for my photography website.

cool isn't it. instead of thinking and being stress about it, i might as well do it!

since I am more or less done with John's stuff for now, i am pretty free (apart from family stuff) to finish things up.

cracking my brain over the baby photography coffee table album though. it's tougher than weddings, since it's not classis but more funky and fun. =)

so happy about my accomplishments today!

Pet photography - Done!

November 11, 2007 - 11:52

I had a hectic but fulfiling sat!

after work, i went to a client's house to shoot their pet dog and 2 cats!

Essentially, i really wanted to shoot the whole family together as i really liked these people and wanted to throw in a nice memory of them as a family.

the cats and dog don't get along though. =p

it was so sweet of the wife to hire me to shoot this, because i know, many years down the road, after the dog and cats are gone, they will really appreciate this decision!

I am very happy the more and more people understand the power of a professional photoshoot, be it children's ,pet's etc. I want to get out of just the wedding domain and expand these areas!


The star of the day! the ageing dog - Shadow


The sweet family. We just took the dog down for a little stroll into a small park nearby. =)

Ten things i want to do as a photographer

November 08, 2007 - 14:51

I was writting down the list of things i want to do as a photographer. and i decided to include a few here to let me rememeber what i promised myself to set out to do for the next 2 months (in no particular order)

-Set up my own photography website ---> it is in progress now, in the planning stage. Deciding between webhost and hiring a web designer who quoted me $800 versus doing it myself for free but likely takes up a lot of time.

-Print my namecard using the new technology by HP that allows photographer to print high quality pictures on their namecard --> managed to get a printing company to sponsor 200 namecards for me. the design is out but i will need the website URL on it so i need to settle the above to print it.

-Shoot another paid wedding assignment -->this will be done in nov. very challenging as i included an express montage to highlight the day event and i am expected to get it done by myself in 2 hours. (hmm...)

-Shoot a wedding under John ---> likely to be in Mar, awaiting couple to pay deposit as confirmation.

- Do a paid pet photography ---> will be done this sat!!!! Shooting a friend's ageing dog so that they will have fond memories even after.... hai... so sad... he dies.

- Publish a pet coffee table album with the pictures from above plus QQ as part of portfolio ---> will be done in dec.

-Do a paid maternity shoot ---> likely to be in dec too, awaiting customer's confirmation.

- Publish my coffee table album under John ---> All done and awaiting it to be printed!

-Do up the D&D photos, printed as part of portfolio for coporate events ---> Dec too.

-Publish a baby photography coffee table album ---> will be done in nov. received an order from my customer's friends to do up the photobook as a birthday gift for her -so sweet right!

I hope to set a new trend that people around me will consider having their portraits or their loved ones, babies, pets etc taken as a birthday gift and to have nice professional photos as part of their christmas card.

sounds fun!

Acting cool

November 05, 2007 - 20:29

I was telling Dyl that even if i am the world most famous photographer, i would probably have only ten photos of him in my collections.

he just refused to be a model and is even harder to capture during candid moments.

sometimes i wonder, i have got thousands of photos of others - wedding couples, pets, babies, etc. all of my customers' but i have so little of those close to me, what's wrong?

in fact, i haven't had my photo taken since my wedding!!!!

well, sometimes, in those rare moments, he will ask me to take a photo of him (though we tend to quarrel after that because he kept directing my shoot!!!!)

The love of my life, acting cool.

Passion and love

November 05, 2007 - 00:17

This is likely the last thing i am going to do before i turned in to bed.

apart from that awful entry about money below, Dyl and i had a fruitful day going to the Imaging Expo for professional photographers @ suntec.

We purchased certain plans that is definitely going to come in handy and kinda set a personal target for us in the coming year.

I am seriously considering to change the studio name to DylanRegina Photography. Because, dyl is such an important element in it. He provides the love, the backrub etc (u don't wanna know too much =p) to me so that i can work in peace.

And i am seriously thinking of setting up our website in wordpress for the timebeing because trying to sort out the actual paid domain site has been a bit of a tricky issue.

Anyway, to end this sunday night, i want to remind everyone that love, is what makes the world go round.

A simple couple who showed me that passion also lies in simplicity. Look at the way they kissed. So much passion in that one moment.

Troubles or not?

November 04, 2007 - 23:01

I learnt a lot of things today.

Money is not just everything. am i working for money? of course i am, else how to live?? Money is about everything but it cannot be. sigh, such an irony.

how much money is enough? why are we not having enough money? i know people who cannot get married or cannot get a house etc because they do not have enough money. then what does that makes us? we got married - debt free luckily, house under government loan, car under a good loan with low interest. we are in debt, i must say we don't have much of savings. but we must make more money, because money really makes you feel secure. it makes you think that if you wake up with something bad happened to you, money can save you somehow. or can it?

i feel like saying God should be everything instead of money. I feel like believing that God provides and knowing him alone makes me rich. but is it?

I hate it when people laugh at me when i talks about how God provides, even when you are having 6 kids. but how does God provides? God don't throw money into my living room. but somehow, i don't doubt for a second that God provides!

Like how John came into our life. Like how there was suddenly a good pay rise for allied health professionals.

Dyl doubts it. and by that alone, i feel sad. Although we do have a common religion but our level of trust and belief differs. and that makes me sad. but i know each and every one of us have to take our own time to know God and know what God can gives us.

I think we are in financial troubles. or are we?

you know, i already forgotten the carefree way of life when i was in sec school, Jc, or even some parts of tertiary education.

i so want to know what boredom is. is having such a packed life a good thing?

QQ's new hairstyle

November 04, 2007 - 12:41

As promised, QQ'a new hairstyle

This is Marriage , build on love.

November 03, 2007 - 14:26

as a young married woman, everyday, i am trying to find out and learn more about what marriage actually is.

friends who are still dating often find marriage very fun and romantic, owning your own house, car, dog, having babies, having sex, going on honeymoon etc. but marriage is a true deep affair. in fact, i think everyone who, at the end of their life, maintained a healthy, God fearing marriage, should be awarded a PhD! it is harder than work or school or any other relationships.

i read about something in daily bread for married couples and found it really meaning:

"as time goes on, we learn that love has a deeper and more practical dimension than the romantic aspect. we discover that we have to work at loving each other."

yes, marriage is hard work. we have to work at loving, honouring, supporting each other. even though work may be tough, money may run dry, but marriage, is the most important relationship, other than man and God's, that we should take time to nurture and make it grow.

in this husband and wife relationship, dyl and i learnt that:

love is patient - we are learning to endure absent mindedness of each other and knowing that forgetting to buy the bread or fruits is small matter.

love is kind - dyl always help me out in housework, even areas that were defined as mine, he will help out and volunteer to take over more and more of the housework when he sees me so busy with my work.

love does not envy - despite things going on very well for me at work, and things not going so well for him at work, dyl never ever envy but always congratulate me.

love does not boast - this i have to learn. i realised that i am constantly boasting to him about earning more etc. =(

love is not proud - well, i think dyl has a bit more of this issue, since man, being man, does not like to admit mistakes!but he's learning.

love is not rude - in public and private. i think i am very good at being nice and accomodating in public but can be very nasty in private. but dyl can be nasty both in public and private when he is really annnoyed with me! got to pray to God about this!

love is not self-seeking - i think i am more self-seeking and i need to change this and be a wife who's always lookg out for opportunity to be of help to him.

love keeps no record of wrongs - yes. i think we do this pretty well.

love always protect - we are hurting each other frequently with sarcastic remarks. need to change.

love never fails - though youth, health and vigor fade away. one day, i won't be young, he will have less hair, we may walk with a walking stick, but love, will see us through.

I am so proud that i am in a marriage and God has appointed Dyl to be the head of the household, though i am his equal, but i will support him in carrying out the Lord's will.

this is marriage.

and i prefer this deep security and trust between us than during dating times. because now, there will never be break-ups (we don't believe in divorce- all catholics and christian do not believe in it unless due to adultery) and we know in this whole wide world, only God and each other matters the most.

Life is in God's hands

November 02, 2007 - 20:25

Dyl just told me that he kinda regretted not having me pregnant in the first few months of our marriage because he so want to be a daddy now.

haahahaha.

life changed a lot after john and i worked out all these plans and after i took a big turn in my life to change to part-time work and settle other commitments.

if we really did get pregnant, now, i believe life would be very different.

but God has his reasons for arranging everything right? and i trust in Him and only Him.

It was a great day out, husband and wife, sometimes, i look at him and remember, that this is my husband, my man, the one i should honour, as God has asked me to.

I must really work on that.

my nov.

November 02, 2007 - 10:55

I realised that there is just about 2 weeks left before Dyl flys off for his taiwan business trip - the first time ever he leaves the country without me. feels kinda sad.

but on the bright side, I have a wedding to shoot on a nov sat and i am very very excited about it!

I will try many new things and play around to capture special shots, to bring myself out of my comfort zone.

It will be much easier this time round, without John around. haha.

And i will need to purchase a new set of wide angle lens. of course, which will bring my total investment somewhere past 10k.

it will come back, i am sure. this is worth it.

Finally, a wedding for display!

November 01, 2007 - 17:05

I just completed the collages for the couple who married in Sep.

They were a really sweet bunch and i enjoyed that day very much, nice couple with friendly, nice families and friends - that's what makes a photographer's day sometimes.=)

The sweet details of such an important day.

The preparation.

The veiling.

i believe all brides will look back at her parents before leaving the house. this is one beautiful moment i captured.

i love the tea ceremony in all weddings. this is such an important part of a chinese wedding! =)

Here, finally, sharing a bit of my works. I hope you like it, and if you do, give Regina a call if you are looking for a wedding photographer. if you do not have my number, drop me an email @ [email protected]

Our official website is going to be up before Christmas and a lot of promotions are going to be launched! look out for more info!

Life is still so good!

November 01, 2007 - 16:52

Obviously, my husband thinks that having sons is a very important part of his life.

We were talking about how people typically pamper their children, especially sons. And dylan actually thinks that having two or three sons are a good thing. Sometimes he sees those families with 4 daughters and he will feel sad for them, actually, I feel sad for them too. I know that although we are not trying to cause gender discrimination here, but somehow, having at least 1 boy is good.

Kinda gave me some pressure.

Someone actually told me to observe the trends of women having only daughters and they always tend to be domineering, have the final say in the family etc. and that�s true! Somehow the women who override them men in terms of power and authority always have daughters only.

I got to be a more submissive wife then =)

I am in the midst of meeting up with a web site designer to settle these stuff on setting up our webby. Very exciting but expensive too!

Recently shot a D & D and some commercial shots for OT day posters which will be used all over Singapore, a pity that I couldn�t put my studios name on it.

Will showcase them as I promised, once I settled things around here with John. We are trying to finalize the collages and get the first album printed under him. =)

Life is good!

As usual, my babies dream

November 01, 2007 - 16:50

I like to browse the blogs of people who are new parents, to share that joy in them and to prepare ourselves for what will come when we become parents, finally.

I really don�t know when that day will come. It seems so far away now, with all these planning going on.

Somehow, I really look forward to having a clean house ( I am so busy that it�s neglected), doesn�t have to be super beautiful or what but it got to be cleaner than it is now � got to dust around the house more and clean the floor more often so that QQ has a neat and nice home to walk around on all 4s.

I want kids running in the living room, painting on the canvas, playing the piano (we don�t have the space to put a piano now though) and I will be baking in the kitchen, the smell of nice home baked muffin will be smell all around the house � then daddy dyl will com home in his nice shirt and ties and perfect tux shoes and the kids will go running towards him, asking for a hug. Of course, QQ will jump and attempt to do a friendly welcome home bite too.

When will that day arrive? God, pls send me an answer. =)

Memories

October 28, 2007 - 14:20

Just to add some colours to this blog. =)

what an irony.

October 24, 2007 - 21:59

took out the previous entry coz i realised that webhost took out important elements of the picture and made it kinda lifeless so it wasn't doing justice!

will settle a few things first then, i will buy a account somewhere to host all my pictures.

i think all these madness, although i loved it, photography and the experience, but i think my marriage is suffering. hate to say this but it's the fact.

hai.

QQ's ordeal

October 17, 2007 - 00:59

a lot happened in the past 2 days, esp to our beloved QQ.

Went to the vet and lost $60 for a skin infection between her eyes and her muzzle.

Brought her to a grooming session that freaked her out and she was crying almost half the time there...

and she came home looking totally different.

Due to the skin problem, we had to shave her down.... and she looked like a poodle, or maltese wanna be! honestly, i cannot believe she is my shih tzu, if not because i sat through the grooming session and watched the transformation!

initially was kinda heartbroken to see her new look but now, i think it's pretty cute.

will post her new hairstyle soon.

We have decided to neuter her before her first heat. =(

honestly, i feel very sad about it but it is the best.

or is it? Dyl is really against it... but i can't imagine losing QQ to breast cancer, uterus infection etc. though many other dogs did survive without being sterilised... hai, i really hope it's the right choice.

this friday will be the day of the surgery. =(

A whole new ideas

October 14, 2007 - 11:26

last night i went to sleep with a totally new idea and outlook to my photography.

we are getting the namecard out next week, it's high time i settle that.

and i am not sitting around waiting for namecard to be distributed to me by my boss. =)

It's going to be cool.

We are having a great friend over tonight and i am going to cook! hahaha.

dsc_0125

My baby QQ with a whole lot of toys.

Why work?

October 12, 2007 - 20:30

Will work ever be fun?

Will being the boss be fun?

Will doing something you are passionate about be fun?

As more and more of my friends enter working life and got over the initial honeymoon period at work, i feel more understood when i complained about work.

Work at the hospital that i work in, is purely for making a living.

i feel happier doing volunteer work or visiting my patients outside of office hours then the work i do.

sigh, is life meant to be like that? i constantly think of that...

will having the courage to pursue what you really want to do, will it make me happier?

I am still pondering...

I want to stay@home, have a real baby, so that my husband don't have to be daddy to only a little puppy...

dsc_0118

dsc_0120

yes, i know we are the reason QQ is spolit. we even get down to her level, literally, to play with her. =p

a housewife's tale

October 10, 2007 - 13:41

well by now, i have just completed steaming and mopping the floor twice. vacuum it. attempted to clean a few small areas with a duster.cleaned my bathroom a little. did laundry. looked at the fridge and did minor adjustment. decided it doesn't need packing as long as i know what's inside. fed the puppy.

and i haven't got down to doing the really important stuff. argh.

need to go clean my camera and watch DVD now.

keeping up with a house is really almost a full-time job.

Luckily, QQ is not as demanding as a baby. =)

She.is.so.so.so.cute

qq

WOnderful Life!

October 10, 2007 - 10:35

Today is an extremely wonderful day that i want to remember.

Because finally i got to rest.

I'm on 2 days leave- yuppie!

Started the morning driving the best husband in the world to work then brought QQ to the park. Bought my breakfast, sinful beehoon and just strolled through the park with her.So wonderful.

Had a mini picnic in the park, though i really hated insects, the trip to the park was so therapeutic. Although QQ was almost raped by a little chihuahua half her size. alamak.

It is really rare to have a break. I already forgotten what it feels like not to work or study.

I am going to
-mop the floor
-clean the house of dust
-do basic packing up
-arrange the fridge
-do laundry
-groom and clean QQ
-bring her for grooming if the above by myself is unsuccessful
-study (at least a chapter~)
-clean my camera
-photoshop photos for workplace
-at least start on photoshop for john
-watch "secrets" DVD

This is the life of a housewife, cum student cum photographer on a off day.

haha. i loved it! I really cannot imagine not being in this stage of my life - being married, having a house, car and dog.

=)

Well, the only thing left is having kids and further extending my care to my family. hai, wanted to talk more about this issue but I'm not in the mood now.

Well, i think my eggs aren't expiring that fast.

I am a photographer, how can't i not remember to capture important parts of my life? sigh. till now, i haven't taken a pic of the car and i recently bashed a hole in it already.grr.

so to end this entry... take a look at our wonderful family life...

dsc_0003

dsc_0015

u would notice that i have to put my fingers inside QQ's mouth in order to calm her and direct her towards the camera. hahaha!



beautifulsensual