newoldour wedding websitedesignhost


I am proud to be your neighbour, Hougang
May 07, 2006

I am proud to be your neighbour, Hougang

May 07, 2006 - 11:48

yesterday I casted my first vote. And with this vote, I bonded with a lot of people. Of course the vote is secret.

People who understands that we the citizens are not to be bullied or trampled upon. We don't go to certain party's beck and call. We don't get bought over by mere dollars. And we know that the little money we got, we had to pay them back in many ways. Taxes that go into minister's HUGE out of the world salary. And the going-to-be increased transport and GST.

How can 100 thousand dollars salary people understands that spending $4 to take train per day is expensive? Have they took trains? Are their car as small as mine? Do they frown at the petrol prices like me? Of course not, a 100 thousand dollars a month, in SG, you can live like a king.

I am very amused at some of my friends from school. The friends at work and outside share the same cup of sentiments like me, but the ones in school, amuses me greatly.

I guess it's about being quick to jump to conclusion and not to blame them, for the lovely media is after all so lovely. I can't say anything bad else I will get sued.

and without adequate information, of course, one will make a very simple choice. Go with the easy choice. I have to say, go look at what the people's voices have influenced policy and you will know that even 1 or 2 persons, can make a world of difference. Not to imagine a group of 5 or 6. It would be great. Know the facts and the facts will let you know what to do.

Then for those who talks about mainstream and underdogs. Go look at the number of votes and results. They speak for themsevles. Did the 58,000 people in Aljunied GRC only want to oppose for the sake of opposing? what's the bigger picture they are supporting? Adding together all the others in the other GRCs, are they still considered underdogs? It's getting mainstream. and ask yourself why?

We are OTs, we learn about humanisn, human rights, democracy, and in our own backyard in the hospital, we look at poor grannys who cannot even afford the GST of healthcare. Why did the government says that only the rich will benefit from the removal of GST for healthcare? that's ridiculous!

And people voices make a huge difference. Of course, for those who did not believe in that, go ahead and rejoice. For transport is going to rise in a few months. And the SBS is earning loads of money, look at their divivdends? And do a quick recall, who sits on the board of directors who will receive these payouts?

Of course, at the end of the day, the votes had been cast and we shall await for the next elections.

And for you my dear friends, life has only started for us. When you are struggling with two kids, one house, one car, sick parents, you will realise that one vote is all that made the difference.

Of course I maintain, every government, just as our MM said, needs a first world opposition. So I applaud the people of hougang and potong pasir, you have the guts. Upgrading is not enough to sway you from what you truly believe in. I am proud to be your neighbour.



beautifulsensual