newoldour wedding websitedesignhost


Updates finally!
July 22, 2006

Updates finally!

July 22, 2006 - 14:55

As dyl and i hug and sob over starting work... (actually the truth is he loves work and i hate it), we realise how extremely badly we want a holiday.

3 months later, when i start qualifying for annual leave, i will make sure we go for a good time somewhere!!!!

right now, i can only enjoy building new relationship with my team, the most happening neurology gang and the whole dept in general. life is fun in the hospital!

at least i love my job. so it takes a lot of stress off me.

and the good news is, my pay is set to break through the 2k golden amount once i am confirmed. so let's pray hard.

i love my work, or i am trying to.
The SGH OT dept hanging out on a bbq night.

Dept BBQ!

July 16, 2006 - 18:02

Yesterday we attended our department BBQ at the podiatrist's home. very pretty place.made me feel so sad and sick of living in a HDB flat!

they had this cosy place , penthouse unit overlooking the pool. the place's pretty private and cosy. we had the BBQ at the open air attic. and even managed to capture fireworks!!!

I am not a big fan of german sausages. so dinner was mostly salad for me.

dyl and i are inspired to own a penthouse too. wahahaha.

like we can afford now.

actually we can, but it will mean working darn hard.

which is not appealing either.

-

-

hai.

July 09, 2006 - 17:46

i have been working for a week.

feel like a dead fish.

other than that, i have been contributing to helping a lot of uncles and aunties return to normal life after stroke.

stroke is a terrible thing. and apart from rehabilitation with us, the therapists, there is almost nothing doctors can do.

so doctors are not that superior after all.

working makes me feel old and haggard.

and too grown-up.

hai.

Nervous

July 02, 2006 - 21:38

I'm feeling extremely nervous now.

Because tomorrow is my big first day at work.

Tomorrow onwards, I will have my own desk (in a way), my own namecard, nametag, therapist stamp and the title of Occupational Therapist.

Sigh. and of course a whole lot of responsbilities.

My FIRST JOB.

And a 3 years bond to that.

So I can't quit anytime i like.

The 3 years of student life is over.

That's a fact, i don't seem to grasp yet.

I have been idle for too long.

God be with me.

on an extremely happy note

June 21, 2006 - 15:41

One just can't help it but sigh at the impending loss of freedom associated with work.

Of having to wake up early in the morning.. how on earth am i supposed to get used to waking up at 6 am when i have been sleeping till 2 pm almost everyday?

I don't even notice it when dyl wakes up to go to work, or that he actually kiss me goodbye in my sleep! i don't even know that! (so even if he doesn't kiss me goodbye, i wouldn't know right? hmm... ) haha.

Well, i am starting to feel sad and at a loss that my holidays are over soon. i know for a fact that I am one of the lucky few who got to wait till july to start work.

i keep having the feeling that i am not doing much.

(anyway mum just called to say she cooked duck soup for dylan. why for him? should be for me too right! my mum is switching ally!)

maybe not doing much is an accomplishmen t too. afterall, you don't get to not do much in future.

just been doing excessive household chores only.

this weekend we are going camping with mum, sis and dylan. wish me luck man! INSECTS aplenty!

on an extremely happy note, i met up with my sec school best friends.

and i will be inviting them home to my messy nest for lunch next week. going to start experimenting with all the dishes now!

Going to the super market now to get materials to cook dinner.

My baby's going to have a good meal tonight.

The end of the journey

June 20, 2006 - 14:27

It's nothing much really.

But i have graduated.

It's nothing that good too. For graduation means paying your own bill, giving money to mummy. being stressed that you are left with so little money yet you have to pay for your house downpayment and stuff.

But still, it marks the end of the student road.

And life will be different from now on.

Bye dear friends, though we will still meet now and then, we all know, it will be different.

Soon. life will be different. but i look forward to it.

Working on July 3rd. Wish me luck.

Ready to say "I do"

June 17, 2006 - 21:43

i think i am feeling funny today.

Maybe i am suffering from housewife's depression syndrome or some sort.

I did so much housework recently I am getting phobia of the thought of getting married.

Other than de-dusting the whole room, packing things up neatly, and even folding all of dylan's clothes exactly the way he requested.

I think I feel extremely grown up today.

And when I saw my dad and mum's wrinkled face, i felt very sad. sad that they are getting old, that they will grow older with each day and eventually leave me.

sad that as I grow up, i didn't need them anymore, and they are so generous, in letting me go, letting me grow up, to have my own world, my own piece of mind.

will i be able to do that for my children?

My children. thinking about that bring another set of thoughts. dylan is not getting younger, although he is still below the relative average age of singaporean first-time dad, i know how much he yearns for a child of his own.

and it did dawn on me the importance of having children, not just that it completes a family, but the fact that it is also a responsibility. From god, from my parents, from his parents.

It is a responsibility to have a heir. I used to think that all these having offsprings was a huge nonsense, especially when my dad remarried so that he can have a son, so that my grandad will feel happy and be able to die in peace.

I do hope to have a son. After all, dylan's dad died when he was so young and dyl is the only son of his family. So the whole burden of having a heir for the Lims family lies on my shoulder!

A year or two ago, i will think that all these I am writing is crap.

But i have grown up, and i have different responsibility now.

Many of my friends and even you, the reader out there, may not be able to understand my feelings, but one day you will be there.

Now I know what mum meant when she told me one day, I will understand how she feels.

Although I am not yet a mother myself yet, but i can understand my mother's role as a wife, as a daughter to her own mother.

I see myself wanting to do the things mum used to do for her mother. Buying her things, spending quiet time with her. Although not talking, just seeing her smile was enough.

That's mother-daughter bond.

I told myself the other day, that on my wedding day, I have better tell the make-up artist to lighten the make up, because I know, I will sob like mad.

So do not panic, when you see me like a mad girl crying. Because I sob, for joy that I got to marry my beloved man, for sadness, that I got to "leave" my family, for fear of the roles I am going to take on, for gratitude, to God.

I know I have been prolonging this marriage thing due to fear. Fear of many responsibilites.

But I got to face it.

After all, every one got to go through this someday.

Mine just happened to come earlier.

Marrying young is not necessary a loss of freedom. In my opinion, i opened a new door for myself, a door to the house of love, of dylan and my love for each other. And eventually for our children, our family.

So perhaps, i am ready to say "i do"

My housewife experience

June 13, 2006 - 14:58

As I am leading an almost married life, once in a while i would have to do some almost married stuff.

like today. I had a preview into the life of a housewife.

i woke up at 5 am, which worried dylan because I never wake up before 12pm most of the time... and then I...

Went to wash the car!!! O no, XYZ! what happened to me?

I washed not just the interior but the exterior as well!!!!!

Then at 7am, I drove my hubby-to-be to work at SGH. Another crazy idea because petrol cost a lot of money. (once again, I emphasize, I have spent more than 100 bucks for petrol in less than a week!)

Then on my way home, i drove to NTUC. I was one of the earliest to arrive to await NTUC to open at 8am! I was sitting there with the ah ma and uncle and the mothers who were dropping their kids off kinderland near the NTUC. O my god, I am really a housewife.

Then I shopped for a lot of stuff to cook.

Now I had finished cooking lunch and dinner for both of us.

And being extremely kuai by staying at home so I won't spend $$$$.

Will be dropping by SGH to pick him up and come home to do more housewifely thing.

Like doing more laundry.

Yucks! I can only lead such life for a day!

Hate it, compared to my usual tai-tai lifestyle of excessive shopping, eating at too expensive restaurant.

Now I know I will want to retain my earning power in the future.

Anyway, back to yesterday bird park trip.

It is essentially bird park. the name really tells it all. There's ONLY birds! SO SUPER BORING!

And of course the man-made waterfall, where a couple was taking their wedding photos admist mosquitoes bites and all.

Nothing much, mum didn't seem to enjoy it either.

EVERYTHING SHE SEES, she asked me, "this bird when cooked, will be nice or not??"

I faint.

And bird park is terrible as compared to the zoo because it serves expensive and gross food. at least zoo had KFC and so.


pardon my sis, she makes all food looks good.



beautifulsensual